top of page

Fallen Angles

Alright this book is most likely the best war book I've ever read before.

Here's my version of the summary.

Seventeen year old Richie Perry has just the Army. Him and his units are constantly switching bases in the Vietnam war. He suffers hardships and witness horrible things. He makes friends with Peewee and together with the squad the try and fight this war. But soon he becomes unsure why they are fighting. He loses friends along the way. He then starts to question why there is a war in the first place, but on the battlefield his only objective is to stay alive.

Favorite Character: My favorite character is most likely Perry. I have no clue why. I guess its because maybe I can relate to him in a way. What many of you might not know is I grew up in a military family. My father was in the Air force than was transferred to the Army. This is how I relate at times Perry didn't know if he would live. In a way I can relate to that but not fully. Here's how I can sort of relate. I never knew if my dad was going to come back alive. But in all honest he can be pretty funny too. The final fact might be he has what I would want in a guy that I would date.

Hated Character: At first I hated most of the squad, especially Peewee. But as the story went on I actually liked them. Then it became Gearheart that I hated the most for a reason I will not tell (you'd have to read it to find out what happened). But then I stated to like him, because he admit a mistake that caused a loss. Then finally it ended up at Sergeant Dongan because that guy has to be the biggest (sorry for language) ass of all time, even out of all books I have read he ranks top.

Favorite part: I have a few mostly the parts where you catch the soldiers being nice to the villagers. Even helping them later because they got caught in the middle. That's when I liked Peewee because he started to make a doll out of grass for a kid who unfortunately was killed by a Cong if I remember correctly. You may ask why isn't that normal or something. But you got to look in the time it was in. These soldiers were called baby killers in the USA, because they essentially did have to kill kids. In my eyes they didn't want to but those kids would've killed them first. As well as those kids were forced to fight (the Congs).

Least Favorite: My least favorite part was in the end. It was finding out that Judy, a friend of Perry was killed because they were hit. Meaning the med-vac plane was shot down. You have to remember that they had explosives (hint hint ammunition,grenades and such) on the plane and on soldiers. They also wouldn't have had time to jump out.

What the author did good on: Honestly Walter Dean Myers did a wonderful job on everything! His story kept me on my toes. It made me more appreciative what our soldiers do, see, experiences, feel, and the sacrifices them and their families make on a daily bases. This is coming from someone who grew up in a military family so I already had the appreciate and respect, but now it's stronger.

On a scale of 1 to 10 how would you rate this book: For me I'd really recommend this book because it breaks the scales.

Afterword: This book really shows you through the soldiers eyes what war is like. For a matter of fact what they go through on a daily bases overseas.

Sorry about this reveiw being so long, but I guess that shows you that this book is really amazing.


Featured Review
Tag Cloud
No tags yet.
bottom of page